Nestled in the charming Suppentonia Valley, Castel Sant'Elia is located halfway between Rome and Viterbo.
The town, with an ancient history, shows signs of the passage of Falisca population as well as the Etruscan one, of which a track is left via the famous "Pagus".
On top of some of these "pagis" medieval villages with protective walls and towers have sprung, still visible at present.
Castel Sant'Elia owes its birth to Pope St. Gregory the Great (590-604) and the town is remembered for the meeting between the Pope and the Queen of the Lombards Teodolinda, as well as for the 15 churches mainly dedicated to the Madonna.
After a long period of dependence on the Church, the town became a feud and saw the succession of many families, including the Colonna, the Orsini and the Farnese. The latter is responsible for many innovations in the legal and administrative cooperation and in the construction of the new castle.
In 1663 the town again underwent the papal rule following the sale by the Farnese to Pope Innocent X.
In 1700 the town was extended beyond the Castello Farnese, thanks to the construction of the village, until in the late eighteenth century its possession passed to the Marquis Lezzani.